The Binding

The Binding

A Novel

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives."--
Publisher: New York, New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2019.
ISBN: 9780062838094
Characteristics: 435 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mynovelesquelife
Jun 07, 2019

RATING: 1 STAR
DNF @ 30%
(Review Not on Blog)

This novel was a bit painful to read and not based on subject matter but because of the writing. I found that my mind either wandered and I could not remember what I last read, or I found myself forcing myself to reread passages. I then decided to try the audiobook and I was able to make it to 30% before I realized I have no investment in the story or the characters. I am giving up on this one.

***I received an eARC from EDELWEISS***

LPL_LeahN May 18, 2019

Imagine a world where our secrets and memories, good and bad, are taken from us and bound into books. We can choose to be bound and forget. For love, or for money, or just for the sake of forgetting our pain. But there's always a cost.

This book is kind of dark and brooding, but the premise is so compelling. I feel like the author could write an entire series about bookbinders, and I would gobble them up, too. It's very descriptively written and includes a beautiful romance.

b
becker
Apr 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this. It is a mix between historical fiction and folklore and was fresh and well written. I especially loved the subtle sense of dread throughout the novel which made you feel as if something bad was going to happen any minute. It takes place in a world that uses a process called binding to erase certain memories from a person's mind which is then stored in a book. You may find it a bit slow to start but it doesn't take long to get wrapped up in the character's lives.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top