Furyborn

Furyborn

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
13
4
Rielle may prove to be one of the Prophesized Queens, if she survives the trials, and a thousand years later bounty hunter Eliana helps a girl who could be the answer to the prophecy.
Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781492673002
Characteristics: 501 pages :,illustrations, map ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

alburke47 Sep 27, 2018

I liked this. I don't usually go for YA (being neither young nor adult), but this sounded like a good one. I was right.

The plot revolves around two women, living a millennium apart.

The first is Rielle, lovelorn and bearing a dark secret, one that could cost her life. When an assassination attempt on her beloved prince Audric forces her to use her hidden powers to save him, her life starts to spiral out of control. All this before she falls foul of angels.

The other is Eliana, a cold-blooded killer who will do anything to protect her family, even work for the empire that has created a world of misery for its citizens. Eliana has her own secret, an ability to heal rapidly that she tries to keep under wraps. When she draws the attention of the Red Crown, a resistance movement aimed at bringing down said empire, her life (surprise, surprise) also takes a worrying turn.

The leads are great, particularly Eliana who only cares for those close to her and is willing to sell out anyone else. The rest of the "cast" are pretty good, all showing strengths and weaknesses, and the dialogue lacks the annoying earnestness that can appear in other YA books. The romance is understated and isn't central to the plot, but what little there is seems real. The exception was the dodgy sex scene that made me chuckle more than blush, and went on for way too long.

The dual character arcs were easy to follow once one got into the plot, and they were relevant to each other, while not necessarily mirroring. The MCs were also very different, with regal Rielle living among royals, while Eliana consorted with criminals. The ending seemed a little rushed, and while there is plenty of plot wrinkles to iron out in future books, I'm not certain the author can match the first book.

We shall see.

PimaLib_ChristineR Sep 08, 2018

4.5 ⭐ Let's get the very minor bad out of the way: this was a tough book to get into. We have a prologuey sort of thing that basically tells you what's going to happen by the end of the book. Then there's the split timeline to deal with. Despite all that, the detail and intricacy of this plot is mindblowing. I was really expecting another Assassin/Badass/Queen combo but this book has, in my reading at least, a completely unique storyline, which in the world of YA fantasy right now, is refreshing. And sexy bits that don't make you want to cringe! Assassins that kill people they're hired too, even when it's the good guys! So, basically a fully-formed world with fully-formed, understandable characters.

l
Linyarai
Aug 28, 2018

I'm sort of torn, at first I didn't love it and I didn't like each chapter flipping between the two characters. It felt like there were two complete plots being wedged into one book. Near the end though they both really picked up and I couldn't put the book down, and I was frequently surprised by some of the characters.

j
jesand
Aug 24, 2018

Aj

kirstd31 Aug 23, 2018

I enjoyed the book. I will read the next one, but the story did remind me of other fantasy books that I have read.

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

I loved this story. The world is rich and complex, and this book only scratched the surface of an intricate mythology hinted at. The characters are multi-dimensional and believable. The two leads are badass yet jarringly imperfect, which is much more interesting than a stereotypical young-adult female lead. I love the way the book is formatted, with the two leads from different times splitting focus. It is so much fun to try to piece together how the events Rielle's time affect and are remembered in Eliana's. While the book does rely on many common young-adult fiction tropes, it is still enjoyable and has its own share of surprises. Fans of The Hunger Games and Song of Ice and Fire series will love this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out.

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

Lots of magic and intrigue as well as a gorgeous cover are sure to draw readers into this story.

v
violet_dog_6087
Jun 30, 2018

Though I am not normally into fantasy I found myself immersed in a brilliantly written action packed world where the heroines were daunting and empowering. I loved this book and would definitely recommend it!!

p
pvessa
Jun 08, 2018

Not appropriate for young people. This should not have been classified as YA. Both heroines kill without remorse. One heroine is an assassin with multiple lovers of both sexes, prostitution, children in brothels, violence, and sex. I don't want my teens reading the series.

z
zebarnetts
May 23, 2018

I'll give it to the author, this book had so much potential! The premise was really intriguing, something I've never really seen before in YA, but when the book played out it really fell flat for me. I lost interest about 60% in. Legrand tries so hard to make a complex and compelling plot, with characters that should fit right in, but they ended up feeling stale, recycled and two-dimensional. Even though this is only the first book in the trilogy, I had so many questions that seemed crucial to the plot that the author left completely unanswered, such as how any of the elemental magic works, or about the motives of the Angels. Overall it was really confusing, it felt very rushed, and there weren't that many memorable characters, as most of them fell into stereotypical typecasts of YA. Here's hoping Legrand will redeem herself in the next book.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

r
readfox
Aug 01, 2018

readfox thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

ArapahoeStaff1 Jul 10, 2018

ArapahoeStaff1 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

z
zebarnetts
May 24, 2018

zebarnetts thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top