The Painted Queen

The Painted Queen

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
"Egypt, 1912. Amelia Peabody and her dashing archeologist husband, Radcliffe Emerson, are once again in danger as they search for a priceless, stolen bust of legendary Queen Nefertiti and Amelia finds herself the target of assassins in this long-awaited, eagerly anticipated final installment of Elizabeth Peters's bestselling, beloved mystery series"--
Publisher: New York, New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2017.
ISBN: 9780062083517
Characteristics: xviii, 323 pages :,maps ;,24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Hess, Joan - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Roundcat
Oct 19, 2017

I enjoyed visiting the Emerson family one last time, however, the writing was somewhat uneven as happens when a book is finished by a different author. The number of threats to Amelia and her family were rather outrageous. Of course, they were summarily dealt with, but there were parts when it seemed that Joan Hess had taken extreme liberties with Peters' original plot and characters, almost to the point of being farcical. The plot hung together and made sense for the most part, however, so I was glad to have most of the loose ends tied up by the end. The new character, who would have made an interesting addition to the later books in the series, will have to have his future imagined.

c
catostorm
Sep 23, 2017

As much as I enjoy Joan Hess as an author, she does not have the same voice as Elizabeth Peters. Ms. Hess made a valiant effort to complete this unfinished work, but it was not the same quality as Ms. Peters' work. I enjoyed the novel, but it left me feeling a little cheated.

c
corrine1964
Sep 08, 2017

for fans of Elizabeth Peters and Amelia Peabody this book sadly disappoints. The writing is not up to par and the characters are not the same. I did not even bother finishing it.

p
pishposh9
Aug 24, 2017

Very disappointing. Ms Peters was a gifted writer with wit and intelligence. In this work, the attempt at wit is overdone and the plot meanders.

Mysterysue Aug 17, 2017

So sad to know it's her last book, really enjoyed it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top