A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
13
A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of "Gone Girl" and "The Girl on the Train." A clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge.
Publisher: New York : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2017.
ISBN: 9780062497772
9780062883490
Characteristics: 298 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
Goodenergy5
Nov 06, 2018

Terrible and dismal book.

c
cannotbeheard
Nov 05, 2018

I'm rounding up my 4.5 stars to 5. This was a fantastic book. But, because it is also a movie, you will now find me comparing the two. The story was extremely creative. Overall, I think I liked the ending in the movie better but I am glad they were different. I loved the changes the movie made but there were some things that I thought were done better in the book. I liked Stephanie more in the book even though Anna Kendrick did a great job. I was happy they went into more detail of exactly what happened to Stephanie's husband and half brother in the book. If I had to pick between the book and the movie, it would be hard for me to choose. I loved the movie but I think I would have to choose the book. There was a nude painting of Blake Lively in the movie that I didn't care for. It felt like it was in there for the shock factor and they kept dragging it back into the plot. I felt like this was even more true after reading the book and finding out that what was such a key piece in the movie, wasn't even in the book. Definitely worth a read and a watch.

WCCLS_BryceK Nov 01, 2018

This book was completely absurd but I loved it for exactly that reason.

Unreliable narrator? Yes. A ton of characters that you're unsure if the author wants you to like, but you don't see how you could, but you're reading it anyway? Yes. Plot twists that are beyond-belief-ridiculous and in a probably unintended hilarious way? Yes.

I didn't read "Gone Girl" and was looking for a mindless airplane read. I was not disappointed.

If you, like me, enjoy willingly suspending your disbelief within an inch of its life once in awhile and are entertained by media that forces you to do that in order to enjoy it, this book is for you.

c
cjulbric
Oct 26, 2018

I do not recommend this book. The plot is clever but the characters are not people I would like to know.

b
bookpusher
Oct 09, 2018

This is the October book in my online book club (Bitter is the new book club). Stephanie is such a fish. Ridiculous! How desperate are you for friends that you believe anything and do anything for someone who's obviously a huge liar!

p
PineSisken
Aug 31, 2018

What a tangled web we weave... Very twisty, indeed! Looking forward to the movie adaptation.

h
heidijoemonty
May 14, 2018

Ugh, this book. A poorly written "Gone Girl" type story for readers who might have liked the 50 Shades series. The incest storyline was completely unnecessary and there was no real resolution. I thought that the story was going to go somewhere, and its a pretty short book so I stuck it out. Also, I have a hard time believing the author is a real person. The author's description on the back flap usually tells the reader something about their life as an insight to their writing style, but since it's so sparse it just reeks of a really bad ghost writer. Skip this one.

j
jachayden
Sep 13, 2017

Mix the plot of Gone Girl, an open disdain for women who are not mothers (why?), an open disdain for British people (WHY?), and a bit of incest, and you'll get this book.

The main character was so unbelievably stupid I wanted to keep reading on because it made me feel better about myself. I'm not pleased by how self-righteous the character is about being a mother. There's more to life than your 5-year-old. This book also portrays British people, especially British men, as stereotypically dumb, dull, stupid, selfish, cheaters, and self-conscious to the point of not being able to stand up for themselves. As a British person who is verrrry happily childless, I was deeply insulted by the implications of the author and characters throughout the story.

Story starts out a lot like Gone Girl, and ends a lot like Gone Girl, with a whole bunch of not necessarily necessary muddling through the middle. Confusing towards the end.

b
Blabbermouth
Sep 01, 2017

It certainly drew me in & I kept going because I wanted to know how it ended but as I entered further into it I began to find the characters more unbelievable. The gullibility of the friend Stephanie was convincing enough until she started revealing her own secrets and still continued to stay along side even when she had learned nothing was as it seemed. Sean was to weak to be believable but Emily didn't seem completed somehow? It was a mystery that was outside of the box which made it appealing to me.

t
therapymutt
Aug 08, 2017

Gone girl copy

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top