Matrons and Madams

Matrons and Madams

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"Clara Durling is a British widow of the First World War who arrives in Canada as the new superintendent of the Lethbridge Hospital, justs as wounded soldiers are streaming home. Lily Parsons is a young widowed schoolteacher from Nova Scotia who ends up in the same city, managing a brothel called The Last Post. Set against the backdrop of love, union organizers, amorous bachelors, gamblers, drinkers, and prositutes, the lives of these two women unexpectedly interwine." -- Publisher.
Publisher: Toronto : Dundurn, ©2015.
ISBN: 9781459728967
Characteristics: 327 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are some gaps in the plot and the book could do with a good edit to smooth out some of the ideas. But the story is a fun read and it certainly changed some of my ideas about the role of prostitution in the settling of the west.

ontherideau Dec 08, 2015

For readers of Helen Humphreys or Frances Itani.
Good storyline, dialogue is awkward at times.

2
21221018293347
Jun 01, 2015

Slow plodding start. I gave up.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top